May 20, 2021
Submissions for 2020 Russ Verona Memorial Award, Jeff Silver Award
Accepted through 7/30/2021
HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL.  MAY 20, 2021 – I-CAR®, the Inter-Industry on Auto Collision Repair, is pleased to announce online nominations are now open for its two top 2020 industry awards which recognize outstanding contributions to advancing technical education and professionalism in the collision repair industry; the Russ Verona Memorial Award and the Jeff Silver Award.
Nominations for both awards are being accepted for consideration through July 30, 2021, with winners announced at a special ceremony at SEMA 2021 in Las Vegas.  Nomination criteria and online applications can be found below.
Established in 2006, the Russ Verona Memorial Award honors a Gold Class® shop that actively promotes technical training and a positive image for the industry. The award honors the memory of Russ Verona, a mentor, friend and role model for the collision repair industry who owned and operated the first-ever Gold Class business. Now 31 years later, collision repair shops of all sizes continue to pursue Gold Class recognition by enrolling their technicians in I-CAR’s Professional Development Program. As of December 31, 2020, there were 8,800 Gold Class shops throughout the country (a +6% increase from 2019).
The Jeff Silver Award honors an individual who demonstrates true passion for training and professional growth, holding I-CAR’s Platinum™ designation for at least five years. Established in 2009, the award honors Jeff Silver, one of the forefathers of the Platinum designation who embodies a true passion for training and professional growth. Platinum achievement remains an important training priority, with 24,282 technicians who maintained their Platinum-level last year.
“Gold Class and Platinum are important achievements for our businesses and individuals in the industry,” explained Nick Notte, I-CAR Vice-President, Sales.“This year I-CAR has made it even easier to continue the legacy and vision inherent in these two awards, by launching online nominations for the first time. We encourage individuals to consider applying today, nominating others or themselves.”
Nominations for the Russ Verona Memorial Award demonstrate a shop that has:
  • Held the I-CAR Gold Class designation for at least five (5) consecutive years.
  • Actively promoted Gold Class designation and training
  • Reinforced the positive image of the collision repair industry
 Click here for the Russ Verona Award Nomination Form
Nominations for the Jeff Silver Award demonstrate an individual who has:
  • Held the I-CAR Platinum designation for at least five (5) consecutive years.
  • Actively promoted the Platinum designation and training
  • Demonstrated superior work that bolsters the collision industry’s positive image.
 Click here for the Jeff Silver Award Nomination Form

  For more information, please visit https://info.i-car.com/about-us/awards
# # #
About I-CAR:  Founded in 1979, I-CAR is a not-for-profit education, knowledge and solutions organization designed to support the evolving needs of the Collision Repair Inter-Industry. I-CAR is focused on improving the quality, safety and efficiency of auto collision repair for the ultimate benefit of both the industry and the consumer.  www.i-car.com