Hoffman Estates, IL
May 26, 2020
I-CAR®, the Inter-Industry Conference on Auto Collision Repair, is pleased to announce the 2020 recipients of its Johnny Dickerson Welding Award, Lon Baudoux Instructor of the Year Award and I-CAR’s Founders and Committee Awards.
The awards were scheduled to be announced at I-CAR’s Annual Volunteer & Instructor Conference planned for earlier this year. Due to COVID-19, the conference was canceled, and I-CAR later recognized award recipients during a virtual event (Editor’s note: highlights can be found here). 
“I-CAR’s vision is to bring collision repair training and knowledge to everyone in the industry. This aspirational goal would not be possible without a dedicated team of some 1,500 instructors, volunteers and staff committed to I-CAR’s front lines in pursuit of complete, safe and quality repairs for the ultimate benefit of the consumer,” explained Stacey Wesselink Moellering, I-CAR AVP, Marketing & Segment Development. 
I-CAR presents the Johnny Dickerson Award to an I-CAR welding instructor in each training region of the country who best imitates the methodologies of Dickerson, who passed away in 2015 following approximately three decades of service. The award exemplifies an individual who has “a heart of a teacher, goes above and beyond to help a technician understand, is giving of their time and energy, and furthers the cause of I-CAR and the Welding Training & Certification™ program,” explained Moellering.  
2020 Johnny Dickerson Award Winners Are
Northwest Region:  Ron Gill
Southwest Region: Hung Luong
South Central Region: James Gordon
North Central Region: James Steele
Southwest Region: Ronnie Swygert
Northeast Region: Bill Valley
The Lon Baudoux Instructor of the Year Award, established in 2009, is given to one instructor in each 
I-CAR training region who goes above and beyond the requirements of the instructor position. “For instance, the instructor may participate in SkillsUSA, committee meetings, travel extra to put on classes, is willing to help and cover for others as needed, etc.,” Moellering said. Baudoux was a beloved instructor who passed away in 2008.  
2020 Lon Baudoux Winners Are:
Northwest Region:  Bruce Evenstad
Southwest Region: Lupe Algood
South Central Region: Tim McCarty
North Central Region:  Trent Jensen
Southeast Region: Sergio Herrera
Northeast Region: Phil Adams
I-CAR also announced recipients of its Founders Ring Award, honoring an individual in each I-CAR training region who best represents the Vision and Mission of I-CAR. “This individual has a heart for the industry, a heart for training, is involved in many additional aspects of the industry and exemplifies all of which I-CAR stands for,” said Moellering.
2020 Founders Ring Award Winners Are:
Northwest Region: Debbie Gates
Southwest Region: Kurtis Rosborough
South Central Region: Jeff Russell
North Central Region: Toni Van Doren
Southeast Region: Kyle Medeiros
Northeast Region: Jim Hill
“I-CAR instructors train technicians who face increasingly complex repairs due to rapid technological advancements. Our volunteers promote I-CAR curriculum to technical schools and work tirelessly to spread the word about I-CAR’s training, Training Alliance partners and technical information that is available on I-CAR’s Repairability Technical Support website one shop at a time. These awards are an important way to honor some of the many remarkable individuals who clearly go above and beyond,” Moellering said.
In addition to these awards, I-CAR recognized more than 125 volunteer committees across the country, which work non-stop to advance the role of training at the local levels. For more information about all 2020 awards, please see the just-released ADAS ISSUE of I-CAR’s Collision Reporter magazine, here. For information on all of I-CAR’s awards and past winners, visit www.i-car.com/awards